how to saved a life!

Weekly Writing Challenge: Honey versus Vinegar

I remember this like it was yesterday…Even though it was five years ago. I was just a new recently born again believer and I was feeling down and a little depress. That’s not what I suppose to feel right?? I just gave my life to God and is following His will. I just made the decision to stop attending college and go to a bible college and I was getting all type of negativity from my family. I needed to get away! So I hopped on a bus and headed downtown. I love going downtown to sit by the river when I have a lot going through my mind. As I’m walking through woldenburg park this homeless man comes out of no where and ask me for a hug. I immediately wonder could he be crazy and try to rob me ?? I feel this peace from the Holy Spirit nudging me to just hug him. So I following His leading and hug the guy. I was nervous but surprisingly he didn’t try anything. It was a quick 3 to 5 second hug but, afterwards the guy went into explaining to me how he wanted to end his life and he felt life wasn’t worth living anymore and just by me stopping and giving that hug changed his mind. I became so excited and we talked about 5 minutes and I got to tell him about Jesus. That turned my day around as well!

Wow who knew a hug would save a life! I couldn’ve judged him, thought he was a pervert, or was going to rob me. As humans we are so quick to judge, but judgment limits the lives we could save!

“To love a man enough to help him, you have to forfeit the warm, self-righteous glow that comes from judging.”
― Ron Hall

 

Click here to read how to save a life Part 2

4 thoughts on “how to saved a life!

Leave a Reply

